GOLDEN OLDIE – Blay Ambolley

6 Jan

I thought it was time to mention an old classic, and the artist I have chosen was probably responsible for my interest in african music as a whole!

Whenever I hear this man’s music I am instantly transported back to my childhood. My father played his album one Saturday afternoon and that was it. I was hooked. The funky jazzy feel and his unique way of rapping never failed to get me moving my little dancing feet.

I know I’m not alone in my love for the legend that is Gyedu Blay Ambolley. Described as Africa’s first rapper he has in my opinion played a huge part in the way in which African, particularly Ghanaian music has devoloped over the years.

I’d been searching all over the net to find the tracks my dad used to play all those years ago but couldn’t find them all. So I took it upon myself to upload my favourites.

Click below to have a listen to my favourites from his ‘Son Of Ghana’ album.

Onam Daadze

Poor Man’s Life

Simi Rapp

Leave a Reply

